IRS offers disaster relief in Maine, Massachusetts, Louisiana


The IRS has expanded administrative relief to victims of Hurricane Lee in Maine and Massachusetts and to seawater intrusion victims in Louisiana. The IRS has extended the deadlines for most income tax returns, income tax payments and other time-sensitive actions for taxpayers in the designated counties in the three states.


The relief applies to deadlines that fall on or after Sept. 15, 2023, and before Feb. 15, 2024, for Maine and Massachusetts victims, and to deadlines that fall on or after Sept. 20, 2023, and before Feb. 15, 2024, for Louisiana victims. The deadlines in all cases are postponed until Feb. 15. The extended deadlines apply to all time-sensitive actions listed in Section 7508A, Treas. Reg. Sec. 301.7508A-1(c)(1) and Rev. Proc. 2018-58. This includes but is not limited to:

  • Individual extended tax returns due Oct. 16
  • Corporate extended returns due on Oct. 16
  • Tax-exempt extended returns due Nov. 15
  • Quarterly estimated income tax payments due on Sept. 15 and Jan. 16
  • Quarterly payroll and excise tax returns normally due on Oct. 31 and Jan. 31

The IRS will also waive failure-to-deposit penalties for Maine and Massachusetts victims for federal payroll and excise tax deposits due on or after Sept. 15, 2023, and before Oct. 2, provided the deposits were made by Oct. 2. Those dates are Sept. 20 and Oct. 5 for Louisiana victims.


The IRS relief applies to taxpayers who reside in or have a principal place of business in a designated county in any of the states, and taxpayers whose books, records or tax professionals are located in a designated county. Relief workers also qualify.


Designated parishes in Louisiana include Jefferson, Orleans, Plaquemines, and St. Bernard. Designated counties in Maine include Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo, Washington, and York. Designated counties in Massachusetts include Barnstable, Berkshire, Bristol, Dukes, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Nantucket, Norfolk, Plymouth, Suffolk, and Worcester. Other counties may be added as FEMA assesses damages. Check the IRS disaster page for the latest list of localities.


The IRS automatically identifies taxpayers located in covered disaster areas and applies the administrative relief. Taxpayers with a residence or a principal place of business outside the affected area but with records in the affected area that are necessary to meet a deadline occurring within the postponement period must call the IRS disaster hotline at (866) 562-5227 to get relief.



Buck Buchanan

Atlanta, Georgia

  • Manufacturing, Transportation & Distribution
  • Technology, media & telecommunications
Service Experience
  • Advisory
Tax professional standards statement

This content supports Grant Thornton LLP’s marketing of professional services and is not written tax advice directed at the particular facts and circumstances of any person. If you are interested in the topics presented herein, we encourage you to contact us or an independent tax professional to discuss their potential application to your particular situation. Nothing herein shall be construed as imposing a limitation on any person from disclosing the tax treatment or tax structure of any matter addressed herein. To the extent this content may be considered to contain written tax advice, any written advice contained in, forwarded with or attached to this content is not intended by Grant Thornton LLP to be used, and cannot be used, by any person for the purpose of avoiding penalties that may be imposed under the Internal Revenue Code.

The information contained herein is general in nature and is based on authorities that are subject to change. It is not, and should not be construed as, accounting, legal or tax advice provided by Grant Thornton LLP to the reader. This material may not be applicable to, or suitable for, the reader’s specific circumstances or needs and may require consideration of tax and nontax factors not described herein. Contact Grant Thornton LLP or other tax professionals prior to taking any action based upon this information. Changes in tax laws or other factors could affect, on a prospective or retroactive basis, the information contained herein; Grant Thornton LLP assumes no obligation to inform the reader of any such changes. All references to “Section,” “Sec.,” or “§” refer to the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.


More tax hot topics